Price alerts

Some links may earn us a referral fee. It doesn't change our prices or rankings.

Skimmer vs Pool Brain

Skimmer charges per pool serviced, with a monthly minimum. Pool Brain charges a base fee plus a fee per field technician. Because only one of them charges by the pool, which is cheaper depends on how many pools each tech carries.

Sources checked 2026-10-19 (Skimmer) and 2026-10-19 (Pool Brain). How we calculate and verify prices.

Monthly subscription cost by company size

Company sizeSkimmer pricingPool Brain pricingLower subscription
50 pools, 1 tech, 0 office$100$115
estimate
Confirm estimate
100 pools, 1 tech, 1 office$200$115
estimate
Confirm estimate
200 pools, 3 techs, 1 office$400$245Pool Brain
400 pools, 4 techs, 1 office$800$310Pool Brain
600 pools, 5 techs, 2 office$1,200$375Pool Brain
1000 pools, 8 techs, 2 office$2,000$570Pool Brain

Monthly billing, subscription only, no add-ons. Estimates cannot establish a winner. Select a company size to adjust it in the calculator, or run your exact numbers →.

A worked example for a small team

At 200 pools, 3 field technicians and 1 office user, billed monthly: Pool Brain calculates to $245 per month, $155 less per month than the other option. This is a subscription comparison using our recorded prices, not a statement that it is the better product.

Compare this company size in the calculator →

What can change the answer?

  • Skimmer: Pool count drives the bill; a plan threshold or monthly minimum can change the rate.
  • Pool Brain: Each additional field technician adds to the subscription; office users are included in the published model.

Start with the features you need

The same company size can need a different plan when a feature is required. A feature listed somewhere on a vendor pricing page is not a guarantee that every plan includes it.

Requirement at this company sizeSkimmerPool Brain
No must-have selected$400Scaling Up$245Standard
QuickBooks required$400Scaling UpNot confirmed on pricing page
Route optimization required$400Scaling UpNot confirmed on pricing page

Required plan changes are included when our data explicitly models them. “Not confirmed” means the vendor pricing page did not establish it, not that the feature is absent. Confirm plan-level availability before buying.

Side by side

FeatureSkimmer pricing detailsPool Brain pricing details
Billing$1/serviced location/mo with $49 minimum (built for 0–49 pools), or $2/location with $98 minimum (50–1,000 pools). Unlimited techs and office users. Over 1,000 pools/mo: custom Enterprise pricing.$50/mo base for unlimited office users plus $65/mo per active field technician. Both figures are the defaults in the pricing calculator script on poolbrain.com/pricing (checked 2026-10-16); the page draws the visible number with JavaScript.
Add-onsService texts $0.029/message (Getting Started), AI Phone $99/mo, Marketing Suite $150/mo, Skimmer Bookkeeping from $198/mo.Vendor says all features and free setup included.
Payment feesCard processing rate not stated on pricing page.Not stated.
Chemical tracking✓ Listed✓ Listed
Route optimization✓ ListedNot confirmed
QuickBooks✓ ListedNot confirmed
Customer portal✓ ListedNot confirmed
Best for (our take)Pool-only companies of any size that want a pool-native appLarger multi-tech pool companies wanting strict tech workflows
SourceSkimmer pricing ↗ (Some links may earn us a referral fee. It doesn't change our prices or rankings.) (2026-10-19)Pool Brain pricing ↗ (Some links may earn us a referral fee. It doesn't change our prices or rankings.) (2026-10-19)

Fit suggestions summarize the pricing model and published information; they are not hands-on product reviews. Payment processing, setup, texting and unmodeled extras are outside the cost table. Read the methodology.